For a better experience please change your browser to CHROME, FIREFOX, OPERA or Internet Explorer.

Top 10 Private Universities in Nigeria

Best private university in Nigeria

There are over 70 private universities in Nigeria. This article provides a compiled list of the top 10 of these Universities.

  1. Covenant university

Founded in 2002 by the founder of the Living Faith Church Worldwide, a.k.a Winner’s Chapel, Bishop David Oyedepo, the school has proven that its worth its juices.

Located at KM 10 Idiroko Rd, Ota, the school has made a name for herself by winning several academic awards, teaching both spiritual and academic morals to her students. In September 2018, Times Higher Education declared it the highest ranked university in Nigeria. The university runs its program through the collegiate system and can boost of five different colleges with each college having its own departments and programmes. The colleges include;

1. College of Business and Social Sciences

2. College of Engineering

3. College of Leadership Development Studies

4. College of Science and Technology

5. School of Postgraduate Studies

Aside from the university’s great education structure, the university’s architectural structure is also a topic of admiration. 

  • Afe Babalola University.

Afe Babalola University was established in the year 2009 by Aare Afe Babalola , who is a prominent lawyer and fish farming entrepreneur from Ekiti StateNigeria. The school is located at Ado-EkitiEkiti StateNigeria.

The university runs the collegiate system and offers five colleges such as;

  1. College of Engineering
  2. College of Medicine and Health Sciences
  3. College of Sciences
  4. College of Law
  5. College of Social and Management Sciences

The university’s college of law is said to be one of the best law colleges in Nigeria.

  • Landmark university

Landmark university is another faith-based university, located at Omu-Aran, Kwara State. The university was founded in the year 2011 by Bishop David Oyedepo, who is also the founder of Covenant university.

The university encourages the students to participant in agriculture, not minding whether it’s their discipline or not.

Like other private universities mentioned above, the university also run the collegiate system. The school has three colleges with each college having several department and disciplines.

1.      College of Agricultural Sciences

2.      College of Business and Social Sciences

3.      College of Science and Engineering


  • Babcock University

Babcock University was founded in the year 1959 but officially inaugurated in the 1999. The university is operated by the Seventh-Day Adventist Church in Nigeria. The university has it’s main campus at Ilishan-Remo and the mini campus at Iperu, Remo.

The university, as at 2013, has nine schools and one college which include;

  1. School of Agriculture & Industrial Technology.
  2. Babcock Business School
  3. School of Basic & Applied Science (formerly Science & Technology).
  4. School of Computing &Engineering Sciences.
  5. School of Education and Humanities.
  6. School of Law & Security Studies.
  7. School of Nursing.
  8. School of Public & Applied Health.
  9. School of Post Graduate Studies.
  10. College of Health and Medical Sciences.
  • American University of Nigeria.

Located in Yola, Adamawa State, the university is the only university in Nigeria with the American style of higher learning in the sub-Saharan Africa. It was founded in the year 2004 by Atiku Abubakar.

The university has five schools for graduate major and undergraduate programs. They are;

  1. School of Arts and Sciences
  2. School of Business and Entrepreneurship
  3. School of Law
  4. School of Information, Technology and Communications.
  5. School of Graduate studies
  • Redeemer’s University

Redeemer’s university is an establishment of the Redeem Christian Church of God. The school was founded in the year 2005 in its temporary site at the Redemption camp, at Ibadan Express Way, Ogun State, before moving to its permanent site at Ede, Osun State in 2015.

The university runs a collegiate system and can boost of four colleges. They are;

  1. College of Science
  2. College of Management and Social Sciences
  3. College of humanities
  4. College of law
  • Al-Hikmah University

The university was founded by AbdulRaeem Oladimeji Islamic Foundation AROIF in the year 2005. The university has its two campuses, the main one in Ilorin and the mini one in Igbaja, both in Kwara State.

The university has five different faculties, in name of;

  1. Faculty of Education
  2. Faculty of Law
  3. Faculty of Natural & Applied Sciences
  4. Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  5. Faculty of Management Sciences
  6. Veritas University

Located in Area Council, Bwari, Abuja, Veritas University was founded by the Catholic Church. The university was established in the year 2002

The university has five colleges, namely,

  1. College of Natural and Applied Sciences
  2. College of Management Sciences
  3. College of Humanities
  4. College of Social Sciences
  5. College of Education
  6. Bowen University

Bowen university is located at Iwo, Osun State. It was founded in the year 2001. The university was established by the Nigerian Baptist convention.

The university operates both the collegiate and faculty systems with six faculties and one college. They are;

  1. Faculty of Agriculture
  2. Faculty of Education
  3. Faculty of Law
  4. Faculty of Humanities
  5. Faculty of Sciences
  6. Faculty Social and Management Sciences
  7. College of Health Sciences
  1. Ajayi Crowther University

Ajayi Crowther University was founded in the year 2005 in Oke-Ebo, Oyo State. It was established by Supra Diocesan Board (West) of the Church of Nigeria.

The university has seven faculties. They are;

  1. Faculty of Education
  2. Faculty of Environmental Sciences
  3. Faculty of Law
  4. Faculty of Humanities
  5. Faculty of Natural Sciences
  6. Faculty of Social Sciences
  7. Faculty of Management Sciences

leave your comment

Top Android